I am a sweet petunia

As far as I know, my grandfather came up with the term “Sweet Petunia” and it has stuck with my family forever. A sweet petunia is someone who finishes all the food on her plate first. All the grandkids were always looking to be named “sweet petunia” at every meal because if you weren’t, you were the rotten egg. I think the term is derived from Porky Pig’s girlfriend Petunia. Great…we were pigs. Maybe this is where my weight issues began. A time when cleaning your plate was required. I always felt rude if I didn’t finish all of my food. And times when I was sitting in front of a plate of food I didn’t like (like most forms of meat) I had to sit there until my plate was clean. Even if it meant sitting at the table all night.

I have struggled with weight issues most of my life. Every December 31st I make the resolution to lose weight. Sometimes I am creative with the terminology, like saying I resolve to make a lifestyle change or get more fit. But any way you cut it, it’s always about getting slimmer. This year I have decided to go a step further and document my weight loss journey. I’m hoping that updating this blog will keep me accountable. I want to get fit, I want to lose weight and I want to be healthy. I hope this time I’m ready. Welcome 2013 – the year I change my life!

2 thoughts on “I am a sweet petunia

  1. I understand your plight, for I too am going thru this journey this year. I know it helps to have a friend so please consider me that person for you. I will help you in any way that I can and maybe by helping you I can also help myself. You have always been a fighter. I know when you write things down that you eat, you eat less or at least eat healthier. Maybe writing a journal will make you accountable to the only person that you need to be accountable to and that is yourself. Cudos to you, keep sharing your blog with me.

  2. I definitely am with you on this Megan. I went to the gym Sat, and not Sunday or today. It’s hard to fit the gym in working a real 9ish – 5ish job. I started again yesterday, They tell you to ship the perimeter of the food store, but like you it is expensive to eat healthy, who the hell has money. I am very proud of you. Maybe we can keep each other motivated..You can do it scratch that We can do it

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

